Governor Cooper Announces County Boards of Elections Chair Appointments | Beaufort County Now | Gov. Cooper has appointed the following individuals to serve as Chair of the following County Boards of Elections

Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19)
Press Release:

    RALEIGH: Gov. Cooper has appointed the following individuals to serve as Chair of the following County Boards of Elections:

  • Alamance: Ms. Dorothy Yarborough
  • Alexander: Mr. Ray Warren
  • Alleghany: Ms. Betty Richardson
  • Anson: Mr. Ross Streater
  • Ashe: Ms. Patricia Beaver
  • Avery: Ms. Patricia Gayle Culbreath
  • Beaufort: The Honorable Thomas Payne
  • Bertie: Mr. William Michael Freeman
  • Bladen: Ms. Louella P. Thompson
  • Brunswick: Mr. Boyd Williamson
  • Buncombe: Mr. Jake Quinn
  • Burke: Mr. Lonnie H. Kirksey III
  • Cabarrus: Mr. Martin Ericson
  • Caldwell: Mr. Morris Reaves
  • Camden: Ms. Beatrice Ferebee
  • Carteret: Ms. Susan Cuthrell
  • Caswell: Mr. Larry C. Cowan
  • Catawba: Mr. Barry Cheney
  • Chatham: Ms. Laura Heise
  • Cherokee: Mr. Gary P. Kilpatrick
  • Chowan: Mr. John Guard
  • Clay: Mr. Jerry Anderson
  • Cleveland: Mr. Douglas Sharp
  • Columbus: Ms. Katherine Horne
  • Craven: Ms. Zeda Trice
  • Cumberland: Ms. Helen Nelson
  • Currituck: Ms. Susan Johnson
  • Dare: Mr. Skip Saunders
  • Davidson: Mr. James Cunningham
  • Davie: Mr. Gary LaBlanc
  • Duplin: Ms. Angela Mainor
  • Durham: Ms. Dawn Baxton
  • Edgecombe: Ms. Florence Armstrong
  • Forsyth: Mr. Robert Durrah
  • Franklin: Ms. Sonravea Privette
  • Gaston: Mr. James (Jim) Ragan
  • Gates: Rev. Jimmy Boone
  • Graham: Ms. Juanita Colvard
  • Granville: Mr. James Wall
  • Greene: Mr. Louis Joyner
  • Guilford: Mr. Horace (Jim) Kimel
  • Halifax: Dr. Ervin Griffin
  • Harnett: Ms. Allison Lynnette Fenderson
  • Haywood: The Honorable Danny Davis
  • Henderson: Mr. Charles Medd
  • Hertford: Mr. Johnny Sessoms
  • Hoke: Ms. Lornette McCaskill
  • Hyde: Ms. Lora Byrd
  • Iredell: Mr. Alan Carpenter
  • Jackson: Mr. Kirk Stephens
  • Johnston: Mr. Gordon Woodruff
  • Jones: The Honorable Zack Koonce
  • Lee: Ms. Susan Feindel
  • Lenoir: Mr. Courtney Patterson
  • Lincoln: Ms. Judy Caudill
  • Macon: Ms. Katherine Tinsley
  • Madison: Mr. Jerry Wallin
  • Martin: Mr. William E Newsome
  • McDowell: Mr. Jonas Buff
  • Mecklenburg: Ms. Carol Hill Williams
  • Mitchell: Ms. Anne Castro
  • Montgomery: Ms. Ada Karen Blair
  • Moore: Rev. Charles McKnight
  • Nash: Ms. Kelly Shore
  • New Hanover: Mr. Oliver Carter
  • Northampton: Ms. Vivian Branch
  • Onslow: Mr. Michael Morgan
  • Orange: Mr. Jamie Cox
  • Pamlico: Ms. Delcine Gibbs
  • Pasquotank: Mrs. Jacqueline Brown
  • Pender: Ms. Barbara Melluso
  • Perquimans: Mrs. Vera Murrill
  • Person: Ms. Jacqueline Booker
  • Pitt: Ms. Etsil Mason
  • Polk: Ms. Sharon Goettert
  • Randolph: Ms. Margaret Megerian
  • Richmond: Mr. Carlton Hawkins
  • Robeson: Mr. Larry Townsend
  • Rockingham: Ms. Ophelia Wright
  • Rowan: Mr. John Hudson
  • Rutherford: Ms. Frances Lockwood
  • Sampson: Ms. Sherry White-Williamson
  • Scotland: The Honorable William "Bill" Purcell
  • Stanly: The Honorable Ronald Burris
  • Stokes: Mr. Michael Pell
  • Surry: Mr. Dwayne Carter
  • Swain: Ms. Hannah Smith
  • Transylvania: Ms. Sara Champion
  • Tyrrell: Mr. Cecil Lilley
  • Union: Mr. Harry Crow
  • Vance: Ms. Heather Kenney
  • Wake: Ms. Erica Porter
  • Warren: Ms. Esther Terry
  • Washington: Mr. General James
  • Watauga: Mr. Michael Behrent
  • Wayne: Mr. Eddie Edwards
  • Wilkes: Mr. Larry Taylor
  • Wilson: Mr. Chip Futrell
  • Yadkin: Mr. Walter Shore
  • Yancey: Mr. Troy Gary Boone

  • Contact: Ford Porter

Go Back


Latest Bloodless Warfare: Politics

Recently, U.S. Senator Thom Tillis (R-NC) co-sponsored the Credit Access and Inclusion Act of 2021 to expand access to credit for an estimated 45 million Americans with either no credit history or a credit history
Jeff "Cal Jr." Jackson refused to answer a voter’s question about his position on Critical Race Theory and even said it “doesn’t exist.”
Today, Governor Roy Cooper announced that Casandra Skinner Hoekstra will serve as Interim Secretary for the North Carolina Department of Public Safety (NCDPS).
Tomorrow, the NCGOP Election Integrity Committee will convene for its first meeting.
Today, Governor Roy Cooper and North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services Secretary Mandy K. Cohen, M.D. announced that state government would begin verifying vaccination status of its workers.
Today, Governor Roy Cooper signed the following bill into law: Senate Bill 146
Today, Governor Roy Cooper signed the following bills into law: House Bill 67 & 6 others


As part of the preparations for the 2021 municipal elections, county boards of elections across North Carolina once again will conduct special tests on all voting equipment to be used in the 2021 municipal elections.
This week, U.S. Senator Thom Tillis (R-NC) and a group of Senators introduced the bipartisan, bicameral Disaster Mitigation and Tax Parity Act, a bill that would make rebates that homeowners receive for making natural disaster mitigation improvements to their homes exempt from federal taxes.
A new report from the Fordham Institute argues that North Carolina’s controversial social studies standards flunk the test on history and civics, ranking worst in the Southeast.
Today, Governor Roy Cooper visited a vaccine clinic at the Forsyth County Department of Public Health to encourage more North Carolinians get their COVID-19 vaccine.
Today, U.S. Senator Thom Tillis (R-NC) issued the following statement after the legislation passed the U.S. Senate
Today, Governor Roy Cooper announced that the State is offering a reward of up to $5,000 for information leading to the arrest and conviction of the person or persons responsible for the murder of Tre'vis Rashad Hawkins, age 22.
NC State Senator Jeff Jackson is living in an alternate universe.
At the close of the extended filing period on Friday, July 23rd for the Town of Aurora Commissioner seat, no candidate filed to run for that seat.


This week, the U.S. Senate unanimously passed bipartisan legislation co-sponsored by U.S. Senator Thom Tillis (R-NC) to amend the Victims of Crime Act (VOCA) to sustain the Crime Victims Fund.
60% of North Carolinians over 18 have now received at least one dose of a COVID-19 vaccine
Today, U.S. Senator Thom Tillis (R-NC) wrote an op-ed for Fox News opposing President Biden’s Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives (ATF) nominee, David Chipman
Gov. Cooper has appointed the following individuals to serve as Chair of the following County Boards of Elections
This week, U.S. Senators Thom Tillis (R-NC), Ted Cruz (R-TX), and 15 of their colleagues introduced legislation to impose human rights sanctions on the Supreme Leader of Iran
In recognition of the important public service provided by the state’s probation/parole officers, Governor Roy Cooper has proclaimed July 18-24, 2021, as Probation, Parole and Community Supervision Officers’ Week in North Carolina.


Back to Top