Gamma Beta Phi Celebrates New Members | Beaufort County Now

Gamma Beta Phi, the honor society at Beaufort County Community College, inducted 52 new members into its organization on March 11. beaufort county community college, BCCC, gamma beta phi, new members, celebration, honor society, march 18, 2020
Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19)

Gamma Beta Phi Celebrates New Members

Press Release:

    WASHINGTON, N.C.     Gamma Beta Phi, the honor society at Beaufort County Community College, inducted 52 new members into its organization on March 11. Members of the honor society achieve academic success, and they also take on projects that help some of the most in need in our community. BCCC's Gamma Beta Phi chapter was one of only six chapters nationwide to be recognized last year as an Exemplary Chapter.

2019-2020 officers for Gamma Beta Phi: (left to right) Berenice Garcia Reyes, provost marshal; Nicholas Blackford, vice president; Adriana Demercurio, president; Dr. Keith Lyon, faculty advisor; Lindsay Swain, secretary; Roxanne Tate, historian; and Berly Leticia Soto, provost marshal.

    During the fall 2019 semester, the honor society continued its strong history of fundraising and community service with a donation of $900 to The Arc of Beaufort County by raffling off three gift baskets filled with donated merchandise from Washington businesses. The Arc is an organization for people with intellectual or developmental disabilities and their family members.

    In the past, Gamma Beta Phi has raised funds for the Open Door Community Center and Zion Men's Shelter and Kitchen. It also joined with the Student Government Association last fall to gather donations for the survivors of Hurricane Dorian on Ocracoke. In 2019, then-secretary Madison Bunting was awarded the Gamma Beta Phi Leadership Scholarship, one of only two recipients in the nation.

    Christopher McDuff, GBP Regional Senator & National Executive Committee member, gave the keynote address. McDuff is currently a student at Durham Tech and working on multiple associate's degrees. He described himself as a lifelong learner who returned to college later in life.

    The group is led by Adriana Demercurio, with Nicholas Blackford serving as vice-president, Lindsay Swain as secretary, Roxanne Tate as historian, and Berly Soto and Berenice Reyes as provost marshals. Dr. Keith Lyon serves as faculty advisor for Gamma Beta Phi.

    Members of Gamma Beta Phi must be presently enrolled at BCCC and committed to excellence in education, to good character and to service. They must have completed 12 or more semester hours of college work and pay the one-time national membership fee of $70.00 along with local dues of $8.00 per semester. Members cannot have their grades drop below a GPA of 3.2 and must have a GPA of 3.5 to be join.

Proud new members of Gamma Beta Phi joined the nationally recognized honor society chapter at BCCC on March 11. While all new inductees are not pictured, a total of 52 students were inducted.

    The new inductees were: Matthew Best, Jacob Bonner, Reagan Bunting, Allen Carawan, Tabitha Clipperton, Ashley Cox, Emanuel Cullipher, Haley Finch, Harrison Gurganus, MaryAnn Hassell, Reagan Heath, Stewart Hopper, Anaya Jones, Angelica Jones, Samantha Knox, Sabrina Lawrence, Jenna Lewis, Jackelinne Lopez, Alejandra Madero Costich, Allison Midgette, Madeleine Mombaerts, My-Kuz Moore, Jeremiah Moore, Taylor Moore, Gracie Morris, Logan Nichols, Sydney O'Neal, Grace Paszt, Sarah Petty, LeAnn Prince, Emily Pulido, Hanna Respess, Taryn Roberson, Michelle Rocha, MacKenzie Rouse, Cassandra Sanchez, Stephen Sardinas, Iesha Smallwood, Abigail Sottile, Lindsay Swain, Anna Taylor, Kathleen Vasquez, Eileen Walo, Allison Waters, Bethany Waters, Emma Waters, Dillon Waters, Fantazia Wiggins, Mya Wilder, Parker Williams, Georgina Wooden and Ashley Woolard.

  • Attila Nemecz
  • Marketing and Public Relations Coordinator
  • Beaufort County Community College
  • 5337 U.S. Highway 264 East
  • Washington, N.C. 27889
  • Ph: 252-940-6387
  • Cell: 252-940-8672


Back to Top